Starting out

All things blog are new to me. Sure, I occasionally come across one while doing research for a particular project or random Google search.  So this is yet another foray for  me into the world of social media. Welcome to My Place for Everything!

Read the synopsis of why I created this blog in the About this blog section.

I’m starting with a few photos from my first home project that I started from scratch – the condo I bought in 2007.  It was a gut rehab, new construction with light oak wood floors, new, stainless steel appliances, white crown and base molding, nine-ft ceilings.

Basic Floorplan

Basic Floorplan

Open empty living space

Open empty living space

I moved in to my tiny little blank slate with very few possessions:  a mattress, bookshelf, television console, a borrowed kitchen table, and all of my clothes and shoes.  Most of my other furniture prior to the move had been oversized and way too large for this much smaller place, so I donated 90% of what I owned to charity.  I spent my first several weeks meditating in the empty space, reading countless decorating magazines and posh furniture catalogues, and using online floor plan design programs to configure imaginary furniture arrangements.

After much window shopping I finally found a new sofa (light tan chenille – SO comfy) and a beautiful silk pillow that I just had to have, and these two staple pieces became the basis for my color inspiration:

Living and dining room colors

Living and dining room colors

Test color splotches

Test color splotches

So I took the light and dark browns as my main elements to build around.  I thought green would a warm, natural accent and white would be a secondary accent because of the white crown molding throughout the rooms, and around the windows, which would work well as a contrast to the black furniture I had (the TV console and kitchen table and chairs in addition to all of the black granite in the kitchen).

Painted living room with accessories

Painted living room with accessories

I painted big paint splotches on the walls in areas where I knew the light would change throughout the day because I wanted to see how the colors would change in the light.

I decided to paint two different colors in the connected living/dining rooms.  The space is long and narrow, but open and airy.  I went with green along the wall with windows not only because I knew I wanted a lighter color on that wall to draw attention to the light from the windows, but I also wanted to give the illusion of green even during the winter when everything is gray and gloomy.  I carried the green onto the opposite wall in the dining room and underneath the breakfast bar.  The tan carried left into the hallway.

Kitchen color

Kitchen color

Standing in the living room, if you turn 180-degrees around, you’ll face the open galley-kitchen with breakfast bar that faces the dining/living room areas.  I’ve always wanted a yellow kitchen, so I compared gold-yellows to the silk pillow, and found the same tone as the tan I’d painted the living room.

Bedroom color

Bedroom color

When it came to the bedroom, I knew I wanted a slightly darker, cozier feeling, but I still wanted it to be a clean somewhat airy retreat.  I chose a dark espresso black/brown bed frame that had storage drawers underneath (very important for such a small space) and keeping in theme with the dark colors of my other major furniture pieces throughout the rest of the house.

I wanted to keep white as an accent, again because of the crown molding in the room and in the rest of the house.  Because I found heavy velvet latte-brown curtains for the room, and already had slightly lighter-colored carpeting in the room, I thought the bed linens should reflect the white accent.  When I found this modern take on the classic chinoiserie motif, I knew it was perfect, and the asymmetry of the design would lend itself well to the small room.  Then I chose a really pretty, kind of over-cast sky blue for the paint for the walls.

The drapes go from ceiling to floor, creating the illusion of extra height in the small room.

The finished product:

First view upon entering

First view upon entering

Long view into the living room

Long view into the living room

Dining area and galley kitchen

Dining area and galley kitchen

Looking over the breakfast bar

Looking over the breakfast bar

 

The only room with carpet

The only room with carpet

The modern blue and brown color scheme connects well with the tan in the hall

The modern blue and brown color scheme connects well with the tan in the hall

 “Finished product” photos by A. J. Hassan

 

Share

One Response to Starting out

  1. Linz says:

    Hey, where did you buy the bird duvet cover? I love it.

Leave a Reply

